User Groups


User Groups control who can see and edit specific records within Ensemble. Users need to be given access via User Groups to be able to enter information into the system before they can view or change anything in the software.


Users can have more than one User Group added to their contact record which ensures that Users have access to all parts of Ensemble that is required for their daily tasks.


How to add a User Group:


       Step 1: Go to User Groups via the Settings Menu in Ensemble:



Step 2: Add a new User Group:


  


Step 3: Add a name to the User Group.



Step 4: Add functions to your User Group. Once a User Group is added to a User Contact Record, that User will be able to view/edit those specific records listed under the functions you added here. You can do this in three ways:

(when adding it currently reads Allocate - should be allocate)


1) By scrolling through all the functions available, choosing the functions required and adding them to the User Group:


    


2) By searching for specific functions using the search bar, selecting the function and adding it to the User Group:

Not currently available to put in screenshots


3) By using the eight filters below the search bar, choosing the functions required and adding them to the User Group:


 


Utility – these are high level functions such as GDPR Compliance

Bands – these are the top-level menu items found in the Ensemble menu

Record Cards – these are created records such as Pupils and Schools

Reports – these are all of the reporting tools available in Ensemble

Sections – these are grouped record cards

Settings – these are all of the options available in Ensemble

Posting – these relate to posting on a ledger, such as posting a credit

Actions – these are all of the options that can appear in Tasks

Add these in as tool tips as well



  


Once you added the functionality you want Users with this User Group to be able to access, you also need to choose if they can read or read and edit the records.


Step 5: Choose whether your Users have Read Access only or Write Access:


  1. Read Access – gives any User Contacts assigned to this User Group, the ability to read the information in the records they have been given access to – you can either de-select or leave selected
  2. Write Access – gives any User Contacts assigned to this User Group, the ability to read & edit the information in the records they have been given access to – you can either de-select or leave selected
  3. Execute Allowed – only appears when the record is a process, such as exporting a report to excel – you do not have the option to read or write data – this is not a checkbox and as such does not require further action



Note: You can remove records from a User Group by pressing the double left-hand facing arrow as seen below:

(Currently says DeAlllocate - should read deallocate)



Note: Pressing the third button in that list removes all functionality from the User Group:

(Currently says DeAlllocate - should read deallocate)



You can add as many or as few functions to a User Group as is required.


Step 5: Save the User Group record:




You have now created a User Group that can be added to a User.